Sunday, May 31, 2020

VIDEO: Hsine and Smith emerge winners of Bahrain Road Runners Full Marathon


ABDELLATIF Hsine and Angela Smith were both triumphant yesterday in the Bahrain Road Runners (BRR) Full Marathon, one of the oldest events of its kind in the region.

Hsine secured first place overall among the men after completing the 42.2-kilometre distance in a total time of two hours 47 minutes and 21 seconds.

Angela was the top finisher amongst the women, and she had a race time of 3:52:02.

A total of 120 runners competed in the marathon, which began and ended at Zallaq Sprigs.

Hsine was in impressive form as he won the event well ahead of the rest of the pack. He crossed the finish line roughly 20 minutes ahead of his closest challenger.

Phil Solarski was the overall runner-up in 3:07:07, while a little further behind was Ahmed Alnmeri in third overall in 3:12:00.

Rounding out the top eight overall were Andrew O’Reilly (3:14:31), Haithm Saleh Shabbah (3:16:50), Mohamed Zaman (3:17:38), Sandor Cserepes (3:18:13) and Mohammed Alameddine (3:22:44).

Meanwhile, Angela also enjoyed a big lead amongst the women participants.

She finished more than 20 minutes ahead of Saman Saei, who came second in 4:14:58. Taking the final podium spot was Dunya Elias, who completed the race in 4:16:06.

Sasha Kuhlow (4:26:53), Vanessa Williams (4:28:12), Mairi Ball (4:30:13), Mary Joshy (4:31:21) and Isabelle Petit (4:33:22) were classified fourth through eighth, repectively.

Aside from the overall classifications, there were also several winners in the men’s and women’s various age categories.

Hasanain Marhoon won the Men’s 25 to 29, Shabbah clinched was victorious in the Men’s 30 to 34, O’Reilly won the Men’s 35 to 39, Cserepes claimed the Men’s 40 to 44, Mehmed Sahinagic won the Men’s 45 to 49, Mario Sagasser won the Men’s 50 to 54, Graeme Tyre won the Men’s 55 to 59, Michael Rauso won the Men’s 60 to 64 and Ghanim Alzallaqi triumphed in the Men’s 65-and-above category.

Amongst the women, Fatima Altaie won Women’s 25 to 29 category, Sasha Kuhlow won the Women’s 35 to 39, Eileen Korver triumphed in the Women’s 40 to 44, Vanessa added to her top eight ranking with a win in the Women’s 45 to 49, Isabelle did the same by winning the Women’s 50 to 54 and as did Mairi in the Women’s 60 to 64 category.

Following the marathon, the winners were presented their respective prizes in an awarding ceremony attended by BRR officials and guests.