Wednesday, August 12, 2020

All geared up for the first ever F1 race in Vietnam


April 2020 will be the first time an F1 race has been held in Vietnam, following the big racing spectacular in March hosted at the Bahrain International Circuit.

The excited promoters of the Formula 1 VinFast Vietnam Grand Prix 2020, the Vietnam Grand Prix Corporation (VGPC), have revealed the official logo of F1’s newest track - the Hanoi Circuit.

In addition, VGPC also unveiled the titles for the circuit’s grandstands, named after nine iconic Vietnamese cities and locations.  

The aim has been to pay tribute to some of the country’s most famous and important landmarks, major cities and provinces whilst also blending each location’s characteristics with the circuit’s own at each grandstand’s position along the 23-Turn, 5,607km long track.

As such, the Thăng Long {Hanoi’s traditional name} Grandstand is located at the Starting Grid, symbolising the constant forward motion, energy and progress of Vietnam’s capital city, whilst the Grandstand at Turns 2, 3 & 4 - whose winding arc shape symbolises a flying dragon - is named after the world famous UNESCO World Heritage Site, Ha Long Bay, whose very name means ‘Bay of the Descending Dragons’.

In addition, the names of each Grandstand were arranged in such a way to run in geographical order from North to South Vietnam following the sequence of turns from the beginning of the track to the end.

CEO Le Ngoc Chi said: The new logo reflects the energy, dynamism and progress of our capital city and the incredible new Hanoi Circuit while the naming of each Grandstand after iconic Vietnamese cities and landmarks is our way of both paying tribute to Vietnam’s vibrant modern culture and rich history as well as helping to educate our international guests a little more on all this country has to offer. 

“This also reflects our ongoing efforts to promote Hanoi to the millions of F1 viewers around the world and to demonstrate Hanoi’s pride in its capability to build a world-class car racing and entertainment facility and to deliver one of the most prestigious sporting events.”


The 2020 schedule:

Australian Grand Prix

Melbourne, 13-15 March

Bahrain Grand Prix

Sakhir, 20-22 March

Vietnam Grand Prix

Hanoi, 3-5 April

Chinese Grand Prix

Shanghai, 17-19 April

Netherlands Grand Prix

Zandvoort, 1-3 May

Spanish Grand Prix

Barcelona, 8-10 May

Monaco Grand Prix

Monte Carlo, 22-24 May

Azerbaijan Grand Prix

Baku, 5-7 June

Canadian Grand Prix

Montreal, 12-14 June

French Grand Prix

Le Castellet, 26-28 June

Austrian Grand Prix

Spielberg, 3-5 July

British Grand Prix

Silverstone, 17-19 July

Hungarian Grand Prix

Budapest, 31 July - 2 August

Belgian Grand Prix

Spa-Francorchamps, 28-30 August

Italian Grand Prix

Monza, 4-6 September

Singapore Grand Prix

Marina Bay, 18-20 September

Russian Grand Prix

Sochi, 25-27 September

Japanese Grand Prix

Suzuka, 9-11 October

United States Grand Prix

Austin, 23-25 October

Mexican Grand Prix

Mexico City, 30 October-1 November

Brazilian Grand Prix

Sao Paulo, 13-15 November

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Yas Marina, 27-29 November